About the hiatus…

Well, it sure has been a while since I’ve written anything on here. There are very good reasons for this.

Reason 1: grad school. (check it!) Rest assured, I’m doing well and having all kinds of fun, but it leaves very little room for non-academic writing. Especially given…

Reason 2: I have mono. There are many worse illness in this world, I know, but holy smokes does this one take it out of you! I made it through fall quarter without realizing that I’d probably been infected since late October, but finals week delivered a nice flair up of symptoms and Christmas was an adventure in eating festive baked goods with inflamed tonsils. (As the designated author of the family Christmas letter, this also meant no letter this year. Sorry about that Slager friends and family!) I rounded a corner this morning and can now imagine myself doing more things than just sleep, which makes the thought of next quarter a little less overwhelming.

Mono aside, I had been thinking that I would give up on this blog once I started school both because of the schedule and because this has always felt like an amateur endeavor. But I’ve realized that if I’m going to subject myself to a rigorous 7-year course of professionalization, I might need a few amateur endeavors in my life to sustain me. Plus, another friend in grad school and a fellow blogger just became a follower of this little web log, and it seems rude to quit right after that.

So I’ll try to write a little more faithfully in the coming months. I might change directions a bit, we’ll see, but for now, I’m here.

Leave a Reply

